The Esko Educational Foundation (EEF) held its annual scholarship awards program, in a COVID-19 abridged format, on May 2, 2021 at Esko High School. The Class of 2021 has 91 graduating seniors; 46 applied for 20 EEF scholarships; 28 seniors were recipients for a total award amount of \$63,350. The EEF Board of Directors members selected these 28 seniors through a competitive blind process using the student's application and two recommendations from teachers, mentors, advisors, coaches, and employers.

Additional scholarships and awards were also given by the Esko Sports Alliance; the Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Foundation in Duluth, MN; and the American Federation of Teachers-Superior, Wisconsin Teachers Union. Congratulations to the Class of 2021 recipients!

Listed below are the scholarships, recipients, and award amounts:

Scott Plaistad Memorial Scholarship \$2500/year, renewable for three years, total \$10,000 Elsa Mowers

Ruth B. Logsdon Memorial Scholarship \$2000/year, renewable for three years, total \$8000 Avery Liljegren Emlynn Mock Neysa Munthe Abigail Weber

Kristin Burkholder Memorial Scholarship \$500/year, renewable for three years, total \$2000 Sydney Poppenberg Kaitlyn Salmela

Esko Volunteer Fire Department/Zak Gamache Memorial Scholarship \$500/year, renewable for one year, total \$1000 Fletcher Schmitz

Jarvis Family Memorial Scholarship \$750 Tia Bertogliat

LaMarche Creek Foundation Scholarship \$2500 Morgan Erickson

Sherry Peterson-Kalm Memorial Scholarship \$1500 Morgan Jordan Esko Educational Foundation Scholarship

\$500

Sara Olson

Lillian Mae Rud

Allison Thornton

Dr. Jacob & Betty Bergstedt Memorial Scholarship

\$1000

Sydney Grayson

Bob & Betsy Towne Memorial Scholarship

\$1000

Alexandra Aker

Jessica Blake Memorial Scholarship

\$1000

Abigail Blazevic

Davis Helberg Memorial Scholarship

\$1000

Ezekiel Palmer

Federated Co-op Oil & Propane Scholarship

\$1000

Grace Liupakka

RAM Mutual Insurance Scholarship

\$1000

Michael Urie

Employees of RAM Mutual Insurance Scholarship

\$1000

Jaxton Ochis

Rod & Sharon Sandberg Scholarship

\$1000

Zoie Johnson

Cloquet Golden K Kiwanis Scholarship

\$500

Lexxy Napper

Esko Education Association Scholarship \$500 Madelyn Haapala Cole Ondrus

Gladys Richardson Memorial Scholarship \$1000 Dylan Edland Sarah Stueber

National Bank of Commerce/Esko Branch \$500 Brenna Stark

The Esko Educational Foundation (EEF) was organized in 1993 due to a generous gift from Ruth B. (nee Kuusito) Logsdon, Esko Class of 1934 valedictorian. The foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) and governed by a volunteer community board of directors whose mission is "to award post secondary education scholarships to graduating Lincoln High School seniors in Esko, Minnesota." Since 1994, the EEF has awarded 39 unique scholarships to 625 Esko High School graduating seniors for \$1,227,700 scholarship awarded funds.

## Awards by Other Organizations:

Alworth Scholarship (Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Foundation, Duluth, MN) \$5000/year, renewable for three years, total \$20,000
Alexandra Aker
Isabelle Cloose
Carsen Jones
Elsa Mowers

American Federation of Teachers Wisconsin Scholarship \$1000 Elsa Mowers

Esko Sports Alliance Athletic Scholarship \$1000 Jonah Randa Mallory Sunnarborg

Esko Sports Alliance Athletic Scholarship-Outstanding Teammate \$1000 Brock House Brenna Stark Esko Sports Alliance Most Outstanding Female Athlete Lily Hanson Esko Sports Alliance Most Outstanding Male Athlete Gage Stankiewicz

Robert "Bob" Thompson Memorial Scholarship (Esko Sports Alliance) \$500 Sydney Grayson Gage Stankiewicz

Santo Antonutti Memorial Scholarship (Esko Sports Alliance) \$300 Haley Mullen Brenna Stark